AGM Committee for 2021 Season

The AGM for 2020 was held on Thursday night, October 29, giving the club the chance to close out and finalise the uncertain season that we all experienced.

Every year at the AGM is the presentation of the Brian Glazebrook Shield, a perpetual trophy awarded annually to the team that displays ‘the right stuff’. There were many deserving teams in the running this year, but the chosen recipients were the Senior Women’s team, who had an up and down season, losing players, gaining players, getting pushed up a division – but still having one of their best seasons ever, and maintaining a great attitude throughout. Congratulations ladies!

One interesting item to note is that the last time the Senior Women’s team was awarded the shield was exactly 20 years ago, as the very first recipients. Well done again to all players, coaches and managers!!

The main function of the AGM is to allow the Sunnybank Saints to close out the sitting committee for the year, and form a new committee. Nominations are sought from new and existing members for the new season ahead, with nominations for each position read out and voted on by all members present.

As a result of the nominations and votes, we would like to welcome our new committee for 2021:

President – Ken Nean
Vice President – Pat Duigan
Secretary – Andrew Godbold
Treasurer – Garry McLean

U5 to U8 Registrar – Shan Smith
U9 to U16 Registrar – Julie Williams

Director of Coaching – Murray Harms
Club Development Officer – Andrew Godbold

Senior Teams Coordinator – Doug Taylor
Senior Mens Coordinator – Doug Taylor
Senior Womens Coordinator – Andrea West

Field Marking Coordinator (Lister St) – Geoff McCracken
Field Marking Coordinator (Calamvale) – Adrian Goldsworthy and Paul Ackerley
Executive Maintenance Officer (Fields) – Ross Phillips

Equipment Officer – Iain Mackay
Assistant Equipment Officer – Ross Phillips

Junior Referees Coordinator – Iain Mackay

6-a-side Coordinator – Adrian Goldsworthy
Awards Coordinator – Pam Ackerley
Social Events Coordinator – Andrea West
Webmaster – Daryl Naumann

Special mention to two individuals who have shown dedication and tireless contributions in their positions for the last couple of years and beyond, and its a credit to them giving their time each season.

Pat Duigan – Pat has been the President for the past three years, and provided the club with quality leadership and stability to steer the club in the right direction. The good news is that Pat will stay on as our Vice President for the 2021 season, providing his experience to help guide this wonderful club in the future. Thank you Pat!

Rowen Gough – Rowen has stood down from the Vice President Role and the Committee. Rowen provided valuable support over many years through different positions within the club, and given time and effort to make sure we perform to the level needed to run this club smoothly. We wish you all the best Rowen, and truly thank you for your tremendous and generous efforts over the years.

Also, special thanks go to Adrian Goldsworthy and Paul Ackerley for coming on board in the crucial Field Marking position at Calamvale, finally allowing Geoff to at least scale back his immense workload.

There are still a number of committee members holding multiple positions, and also still a handful of positions yet to fill before next season. We would really like to see some new faces from our members come on board and help, so please check out the positions and help out where you can – it’s not too late!

Positions that are still available include Minutes Secretary, Facilities Development Officer, Senior, Junior and U5-U8 Development Officers, and Canteen Coordinators (maybe!). Details of each positions requirements are available on the Committee page.

We look forward to a great season in 2021, and hope to see you all back again!